What happened to old tile set in 0.E

I started playing again with 0.E-2 and am coming from 0.D. If I recall correctly the tile set was called JSON but now I don’t see the tile set. Does anyone know how I can get it or why it’s not there?

There never was a tileset called JSON, json is the file format used to store some of the game data. But here’s the copy-pasta made to explain what happened to missing tilesets:

Several tilesets (of which MSX++UndeadPeopleEdition was a notable example, and previously the default tileset of C:DDA) contained an unknown number of assets verified as originating with sources whose licenses did not allow their reuse in this context. Further, given a lot of the other tiles had unclear provenance, it couldn’t be certain that there weren’t other illegitimately acquired assets in those tilesets. Accordingly, in order to keep the project legal and legitimate, those tilesets have all been removed.

Aww man well that sucks. I guess I’ll use one of the other tile sets, thank you for telling me.

Try Ultica, it’s looking pretty good and should receive a big update soon.

if you want to use MSX++UndeadPeopleEdition instead of unfinished ultica tileset, you can download it directly from SomeDeadGuy git repo:

maybe someday Utica will be finished but for now (of course it’s only my opinion) there is still too many missing tiles to use it without seeing ascii symbols everywhere.

Referring to what Fris0uman wrote about MSX++UndeadPeopleEdition. I think that you should read:

For me it was not fair to demand evidence of the legality of tens of thousands of tiles instead of helping with finding all the tiles that are under non free license but of course it’s only my opinion.

I think this also applies to this topic… interesting read: