Rationale for reloaded ammo being worse?

I noticed that reloaded ammo is always worse than factory loads, with 10% higher dispersion and 10% lower damage. Curious as to the rationale behind this. I only shoot with friends, but according to them handloaded ammo is generally superior to factory loads.

I think that depends on how it’s done. In game I imagine the process used leads to a less precise bullet being made along with inferior sealing or something. But yeah I don’t get why there are very few custom handloads.

Edit:note I have zero experience of actual handloading with the most knowledge being educated guessing and skimming a Wikipedia article.

As there’s no solid numbers one way or the other, it’s set to make the (limited, scavengeable) factory loads better than the (unlimited, craftable) hand loads.

It also leaves the door open for better or specialized hand loads to be added in the future, perhaps with higher tool and/or skill requirements.

1 Like

Aside from getting an assortment of parts are the factory machines from vaults going to be useful?

No, that kind of thing tends to be pretty specialized, so repurposing them is difficult to impossible, plus you somehow need to supply power for them.

There’s an intermediate set of tools you’d find in a “machine shop” like lathes, drills, metal breaks, etc that are intended for general-purpose machining, but to support something like that we need greatly expanded crafting qualities.