Chemistry Mod/Alcohol Container Spawning process

I’m a Chemistry major at my local state college. I’ve played a few games on and off, and I keep coming back to DDA - I love it. But as is commonly recognized, it seems, cataclysm has terrible chemistry. Now I understand, it wasn’t meant to be perfect. But I personally can’t enjoy the game when certain chemistry-related recipes make no sense. It pains me…

Joking aside, I’d like to give the chemistry crafting portion of this game an overhaul. I’ll do this in the form of a mod, I think. I’m not very good with github, and I don’t think that my changes will necessarily be for everyone (i.e. biodiesel will likely be even harder to make…), so I think a mod is the best way to go.

I can’t imagine this being a very quick process, but I’ve already begun looking into the structure of the JSON data for the game, and have a plan for changing some of the senseless recipes into more sensible ones. I might also add a few more food items and boozes - I’ll try to keep them all rare and not unbalanced, but I always find it fun when a game has an absurd amount of variety.

Along those lines, I have a quick question (since I haven’t ever gotten super-far in the game): Does booze ever spawn in kegs? I know kegs are a thing from looking in the containers data file, but from what I see in the comestibles file, things like wine_noir, beer, mead, etc. all spawn in really specific containers, and usually really small ones. If it doesn’t already happen, I’d like to make kegs of beer spawn (rarely) and made the entry below:

{
    "type" : "COMESTIBLE",
    "id" : "beer_keg",
    "name" : "keg beer",
    "name_plural": "keg beer",
    "weight" : 240,
    "color" : "brown",
    "addiction_type" : "alcohol",
    "use_action" : "ALCOHOL_WEAK",
    "stim" : -4,
    "container" : "keg",
    "comestible_type" : "DRINK",
    "symbol" : "~",
    "quench" : 18,
    "addiction_potential" : 3,
    "nutrition" : 3,