Power Armor does not need power?

I’m new to the game and I found a (1) basic power armor suit and (2) light power armor helmet. Anyway, I have been able to wear the armor and go on a complete zombie rampage through town with seeming invincibility due to the 99 protection level which seems overpowered. I checked the wiki and it says that the armor requires power via a unified power supply (UPS). However, I see no indication of how this is installed or how it works and I seem to have unlimited power with the suit. Is this a bug or working as intended? (I downloaded an experimental version from last week and installed the latest version today with no difference.)

You should notice that you are extremely heavily encumbered on all body parts, that goes away if the suit is powered.
It definitely needs a nerf though, there was a bug until recently that rendered the coverage of the power armor 99% instead of 100%, once that was fixed it revealed the fact that the power armor is in reality way too good.

Only 5 encumbrance.

Depends. The armor part needs nerf, yes, but the rest of stats are being power-sept: it ONLY protects you against bash and cut, plus works as gas mask.
While RM13 is lighter, less encumbering, and holds double the advanced UPS’s charge and is a full ANBC plus full-color nightvision plus gas mask plus wade-into-a-burning-fungal-patch-and-not-even-warm-up fire protection plus ear protection when on. Doesn’t have as much bash and cut defense, but nothing stopping you from equipping it along with the rest of your gear, minus shoes and helmet, other than encumbrance.
Much rarer, but stethoscopes aren’t rarer than it now and acetylene torch helps break into banks where it usually spawns.

P.S. Speaking of equipping two pairs of shoes… are there things which can be equipped OVER your footwear? IRL’s shock protection galoshes are worn over regular footwear.

5 is a shitload.