New Player - Which Version Should I Use?

Greetings all,

I started playing CDDA about a week ago. I have been using the latest stable release but have noticed its not been updated in over a year. so my question is, which version should I be using? Is there a relatively stable and balanced build that the community generally uses? What build works with most mods?

Please be civil, I don’t know if this is a contested point in the community. Also suggest any mods that are must haves.

Hook

Welcome! As a general rule of thumb you are safe using the latest experimental versions more often than not. Most major issues are usually solved quickly when they do show up. And the new features are worth what little risk is present.

If you need a baseline version I’m currently playing a game with experimental windows graphical version 5979 and have not come across any game ruining bugs. But any experimental probably works fine.

As for essential mods, I prefer playing with z-levels turned on in the options and the more locations and z-level buildings mods turned on as well. There’s also the chesthole soundpack somewhere on the forums. Sound effects add quite a bit, though I usually turn the music off and use my own.

http://smf.cataclysmdda.com/index.php?topic=11895.0 - This is CDDA Game Launcher and it is must have utility if you want to have latest experimental builds. You can manage updates, backup saves, throw in some audio settings and more.

As for mods - I personally always go with Icecoon’s Arsenal, More Realistic Guns, Vehicle Additions, turn Joke Monsters off, turn Antique Firearms off, throw in some Filthy Clothes and stuff… Generally vehicle additions and Icecoone’s and More Guns are top priority for me. I don’t use fantasy stuff like Arcana Mod or Necromancy. and PK’s Rebalancing is a bit tough for me so far.

Otherwise - feel free to improvise. No mods at all is fine too.

I strongly suggest going with experimentals and update them daily.