Multi-tile monsters

is there any thoughts or plans to make monster’s tiles be size based?

what i mean is have larger monsters be multiple tiles?

It always seems weird to me that say, the tank-bot is only 1 tile big, while a regular car is what? 4x6 or something?

I was just wondering if something like that has been talked about, I am also a programmer, not too familiar with c++ but I’d love to learn a bit… and I’m interested in trying to dabble in some fields that I could be of some use in.

This is one of those ideas that gets suggested a lot, and seems like it wouldn’t be that difficult to do, but is in truth both fiendishly difficult and requires a ton of work. Basically you would need to rewrite pretty much the entire path finding code and a lot of the map code, as well as catch a huge amount of various edge cases.

Now while box creatures are out, you might be able to create a “snake” type creature where the end just follows the beginning without too much work comparatively (though it would still be a rather large amount). It’s just a lot of work for very little actual reward.

One alternative path for some things (this only works for more goo-like individually damage able monsters) would be to create them in bunches and then have them all group up and move together (similar to the breathers). The end result would be very similar to a single large monster, but wouldn’t take near as much work, just a few path finding tweaks.

It’s actually not necessary - I think. A square ingame seems to be like in Dwarf Fortress, its a ‘place’ rather then a fixed value. I once tried to calculate the Surface Area with the Vehicles, for example: