How did I die?

Hello all! New player and poster here. I’ve been playing for a few weeks now and have been lurking these forums and wiki for as long until now.

So I started playing on .8 and finally got to where I could keep a character alive and navigate the New England area some.

Then .9 came out so I gave it a few weeks before jumping in so whatever major bugs there were could be fixed. Not my first rodeo with roguelikes and games in active development. I’m a long time (3-4 years now?) Dwarf Fortress player along with a hand full of other roguelikes.

SOooo I launched up .9 and got my options just right, plugged in the retro tile-set that is just awesome btw! (side question why is that the only tile-set I’ve used so far that shows items on top of or inside other items. In all other tile-sets that came with .9 if an item was on a piece of furniture it didn’t show it. The retro tile-set seems to be the only one that shows items ontop/inside other items, just curious if it’s a bug or what) I created a waay overpowered character, gave myself like 20 points and Overkill was born. Enabled Black Road and started my journey.