Help with Beginning/Making/Editing a Tileset

Edit: WARNING: A lot of repetitive text ahead. Check the lowest posts for the most relevent (if out of context) info. If you want help on making tilesets, StopSignal has made a great guide amongst my ramblings.

Edit2: I think I’ve clean up some of my clutter. Should be slightly easier to get through now.

I’m considering trying to make my own character sprites for a tileset. However I have little modding and coding experience, and I’m unsure of where to start.

I recently decided to use the ChestHole tileset and really enjoyed the wearable sprites feature. However I prefer character sprites (Are they sprites or tiles?) like those from the MShock24 tileset that are more proportional to the human body. My current plan is to edit an existing tileset and I have already changed the appearance of some of the wearable sprites more to my taste in the ChestHole tileset. But I’m unsure of how to code the orientation of equipment so that, for example, wearing pants causes the pants sprite to appear over the legs area of the player sprite. Beyond that I was also wondering if it is possible to implement new sprites. By that I mean making player or npc sprites that are different (skin color, hair, eyes, etc.) perhaps randomly, by choice, or due to the professions chosen during character creation, or maybe different sprites of the same item for different characters, such as a female vs male character, or a heavily mutated character. I also noted that in the Chesthole tileset the sprite for the football helmet and the heavy survivor helmet are the same, so I would want to create a unique sprite for each if possible.

I apologize if there are any guides for this kind of thing that I have missed on the forums. If there are any guides for this type of coding on the internet in general, I would appreciate it if someone were to suggest some.

Thank you for any of your help or suggestions.