Detecting Radioactivity

Heya all

My 1st post here and I am very new to this game, but having a lot of fun. The concept, depth and hardcore elements appeal strongly to me.

I have been trying to avoid reading the wiki as much as is possible to leave as much self-discovery as possible and have been fun doing it this way (even though I’m being told “apparently you enjoy pissing upwind”), but every now and again when I feel I grasp enough of a concept I will look for the fillers from wiki or here. My suspicions were confirmed by wiki but not completely answered in this case though.

I’ve developed a pretty damn inconvenient mutation and have found that my mistake was using a local crater area as a strategic battlefield with Parkour to bow the crap out of the Z’s.

I can only imagine that I have not yet stumbled onto some nice protective gear like a hazmat suit or something, but I can see that protection will be possible through gear by the ‘environmental protection’ stat of some items. I am rater interested in the detection though.

So here’s my question: Since I received no in game warning that I was mucking about in a radioactive area and contracting radiation poisoning (yeah, I got DAMN sick while the mutation developed), is there a way of detecting these areas? By means of some intrinsic ability, or device (Geiger counter) or otherwise?

As you just said you can use a geiser counter, but you can also take a loot at a badge (wear it).
Both can be found in military/lab area & corpses. (better luck in military for me)