CDDA Development Visualization & Contributing

Hi all,
I’m relatively new to Cataclysm and this forum but a long time programmer and rogue-like fanatic. I’ve been diving into the code nearly as much as I’ve been playing and having an absolute blast with both.

I came across a couple videos on Octav Sandulescu’s YouTube page that I found pretty amazing. I wouldn’t be surprised if they were familiar to some of you.

Signal boosting these here:
Cataclysm: Dark Days Ahead Development 2010-2014
Cataclysm: Dark Days Ahead Development 2014-2017

The description for “The Toolbox” suggests that this is the place to learn how to contribute to the project. I’m pretty curious to know more about the process that y’all are engaging in here. In particular I’m interested in the engine side of things as opposed to mods.

For clarity, I have two related questions:
What is the current size/scope of the people contributing to the core of this project?
… and how has the inclusion of additional contributors typically been handled in the past?

Anyhow, you guys are badass.

in the last week, 22 authors pushed 107 commits. I don’t recognize anyone’s user logo but my own, and I’m sixth in the number of commits with 13-16 commits in a few PRs. That suggests 5 people submitted half the commits and the other 16 submitted 1-2 each. How much of that is “core” I don’t know. I wouldn’t consider any of changes to be core but only 1-2 of them were in a mod.

Additional contributors have been added when a person opened a PR for a change. There’s no barriers to entry beyond skill: I had the vehicle parts descriptions code accepted as my third or fourth PR, even though that was a significant revision of some of the vehicle code. My code was good enough so it got accepted.