Anti fungal zombies

To day while creating new world i forgot to enable No fungal mod. When i started playing i saw a small war between zombies and fungus. After watching a while zombies lost quite severely and were converted to fungal side.

This got me thinking who is top dog in the multiversal 4d chess strip poker. Blob or the funguys?
Seeing the zombies lack any anti fungal capability i would say it the mold is the winner.

I understand this due to relative early stages of development, but i wanted to use this brainstorming opportunity for the future. Maybe it at some point would help in the development.

So what are your ideas for anti fungal zombie evolution?

Some of mine are :

Stationary zombie “growth” that propagates antifungal mist of sorts, that kills fungus and everything else at that point. Sort of smoking zombie.

Blob corrupted fungaloids, Mycus is capable of killing blob in the host, but what about if host have more blob that it can handle or a fungoloid stumbles across big blob and is taken over. These would spawn a corrupted version of fungus, think cancer, that would convert fungal bed and slowly kill them.

Some sort of radiation zombie, that simply kills everything that cant resists the radiation.

2 Likes

Flamethrower zombie would do the job quite well if they had a chance every couple of turns in combat to twitch the finger that is holding the trigger of their flamethrower. I’m not saying they can use it, just that it sometimes accidentally goes off and sets alight a random tile due to inherited muscle memory or something.