Zombie Evolution - How Does It Work?

In this case, thread content = thread topic.

The higher the number the slower they evolve. Normal is 4.00 I like a long slow game so I go with 100 which is max.

Normal zeds will evolve into tough zeds and then brutes and then hulks, or similar evolution lines, not sure exactly.

As far as I remember from the wiki, grenadier zombies become elite grenadier zombies. Going with thekobold’s example, I assume shocker zombies become shocker brutes, but I haven’t played with zombie evolution yet so I have no experience with the subject itself.

I should have included my total lack of knowledge in the OP: the extent of my knowledge about zombie evolution is that “zombies evolve over time”. I’ve never even seen the config screen (I’m presuming on worldgen) where Zombie Evolution was there and had a default value of 4.00, but then again I may have overlooked it because zombies were definitely getting tougher over time in my last game. I mean, if I wasn’t even playing with Zombie Evolution on at all then I’m severely confused because SOMETHING was happening, as I traveled through suburban and urban areas and the seasons changed from spring to summer to fall I noticed a definite increase in the density of brutes and hulks but other specials as well (grabbers in particular).

It’s on by default so you were playing with it. It’s under world settings, it can be turned off.

In 0.C-3782? Weird. Don’t remember seeing that particular widget, must have missed it.

Anyway my main concerns with this were: A) are we looking at an “end state” in zombie evolution where everything is a Hulk or a Brute thereby making being on foot in a populated area for anything but the shortest sprints completely unplayable, and B) how many in-game seasons do these “dark days” (more accurately: days of you are completely fucked) take to arrive on the default settings?