Tile_config is "legacy"?

Hi!

I’m making a tileset. In Cataclysm-DDA/TILESET.md at f17115a89ed8b08f7f13bed0a4d6fa5d09e446a7 · CleverRaven/Cataclysm-DDA · GitHub “tile_config” is under “Legacy tilesets” and it says:

“Prior to October 2019, when compose.py was made, sprite indices in tile_config.json had to be calculated by hand.”

All of the tilesets that came with the game use tile_config. Are they using the “legacy” method? Writing a tile_config file is a time-consuming task. I don’t want to start doing it if in a month or a year I’ll have to switch to the new method. What is the new method? If it was explained in TILESET.md I didn’t understand it. I’m not a programmer. I learned to use tile_config by looking at the other tilesets. Is there an example of a tileset made using the new method?

Thank you!

The new method is we run a script that make tile_config automatically without having to do it manually.

Here the github where the tileset included with the game are made CDDA-Tilesets/gfx at master · I-am-Erk/CDDA-Tilesets · GitHub you can see how stuff are organised in the gfx folder. To make a tileset you need to irganise your spirte in a similar manner and run the compose.py script that will make the tilesheets and the tile_config.json automatically from your individual sprites

Thank you for clarifying!

So every sprite needs its own png and json files? How do people work with hundreds of sprites all in different files? :thinking:

The json files are not always necessary, if you name the png file of the sprite with the id of the stuff it represents that’s enough for the script to work.

How do artists work with hundreds of sprite files? What if you want to change the color of wood and 500 sprites have wood in them? Surely no one would open, edit and save a file 500 times just to do this.