(OT) Cata things that used to be

Suddenly I recalled today there was an acid rain in cata. And it was fairly crippling should you find yourself in the middle of a field, dragging a shopping cart. No more. I sort of miss it but then there are a lot of other things to cause trouble. Enough is enough.

Then there were traps on the roads, sometimes surrounding moderately good loot. Gone.

By no means bragging, I’m fairly new to Cata (been playing since 0.8 or 0.9). But what bothers me is that I haven’t seen even one mil. surprlus store for a while. Have these disappeared too?

And what other curious gimmicks used to be in the game?

Military surplus stores still exist, found one today on an experimental build.

I do miss those traps on the road surrounding some loot.

I’m as fresh as fresh gets, As green as uncut marijuana… Having started playing after 0.B had been out for a while.
I’ve never seen the acid rains… But the traps were cute i’ll give ye that xD

I remember being able to find cars in parking lots. Now it’s all shopping carts and ice cream vendors. Not that there’s a dearth of cars, it’s just odd.

You can change the weather and get acid rain via debug. Weather changing is disabled on stable, but in the experimental you can activate it. Acid rain can bring your pain up to 100.

Annoying thing if you don’t have a leather coat or something. Would cause you a lot of pain quickly. So it was another incentive to stick to towns unless you’ve managed to nick some acidproof clothes.

I remember having to search a half dozen houses for a cooking pot.

Farthest I remember playing the game… not sure if it was the original or already DDA, but the version I remember playing first didn’t have static spawn.