Normal arrows shouldn't gib enemies

Hi I just started playing this game last week, and have been enjoying it immensely. I followed one of the guides on the wiki and created an archer. I craft and hunt with metal arrows now, and it seems wrong that enemies and prey completely explode from my arrows. I have a very high archery skill, but even so, it doesn’t seem very archery like for things to explode from an arrow. I can’t even hunt squirrels or rabbits anymore, because nothing is left behind. :frowning:

In my build there’s an arrow called the “game arrow” that is designed not to cause whatever you’re shooting at to explode.

To be fair, enemies shouldn’t get exploded unless you are using an actual explosive. Blowing up anything with a hammer or .22 is just plain ridiculous.

Let’s just imagine that when your skills are high enough , everything beacomes like .50 cal bullet and can blow off pieces from most human sized creatures and compleately tear apart smaller ones.

A metal arrow shot from a reflex recurve bow at 12 strength probably deals an average of 150 damage, and can go up to 260 that I’ve seen.

Archery is ludicrously broken, but so is everything else; converting the game’s infinite 9mm into 9mm +P+ and keeping a 100-round Calico is just as broken, driving a car is just as broken, swinging a sword or martial arts are just as broken.

If you want a hunting weapon, use game arrows like the other guy said.
Or keep a repeating crossbow and craft wood bolts, a convenient combination that does solidly mediocre damage.

I don’t see how any amount of skill can turn a .22 bullet into .50 BMG. No amount of skill can create energy or matter out of nothing.