Newbie Here - Regarding Archery

Hey all,

Been playing for not a long time, but I know that when O.E started, Archery was revamped and I was super stoked because I enjoy that type of play. I know that there was an update recently to deal with some archery damage, but man - it seems that Archery is now way worse than it was prior to initial O.E launch. Now, granted, I am playing Dark Skies Above - so maybe the hide on the strays just really are that thick and the archery needed to be brought down to compensate - but it does essentially make archery useless in terms of enemies.

I’m not a whiz with codes and stuff (trying to learn for the sake of seeing how the game works, but it’s very, very slow going), so I couldn’t tell you the numbers in regards to the enemy armor and such. However, I was just curious if:

a) After one of the newest updates, archery is also not as effective against ZEDS,
b) Am I possibly just an idiot and missing the point or something,
c) Was it perhaps TOO nerfed?

The damage I’m doing, when it actually does damage, is pretty good! But, it hardly pierces anything - stray bruisers, new order knights, stray titans (which I definitely understand), etc. My arrows just will not penetrate.

Just curious in regards to whether anyone else is experiencing this, and if archery is also less effective in DDA, not just DSA.

Thanks y’all!

The rework based bows and arrows on real numbers from a painstakingly researched source we found that gave draw weights to momentum and other physics-y stuff.

This then becomes a matter of how you build from those real numbers into game numbers, after the rework they were way too powerful, then they were nerfed, and they may be partially buffed or tweaked in the future - this is how it works in this continous game dev context - you tweak until its right.