Need help developing ideas to improve welding mechanics

Hello,

I am a trained welder and I am looking to help provide information (and help develop if I can) improvements to the welding mechanics in CDDA. I only know some basic programming and do not understand the complexities of Cataclysm. Which is why…

I need help understanding what is realistic to implement and how I can better shape welding to be included in the game.

Here is a google doc I wiped up with another welder. I tried to explain welding in short and thoroughly. And then we provided some suggestions at the bottom.

Please, tell me what makes sense, what doesn’t, what could be added, what can’t be done, what your ideas are, how mine are bad, all of it.

Thanks!

UPDATE:
I’m pretty busy lately, so I will work on this when I can, but it may not be until the summer.
Please, continue comment on this or the doc, with your ideas. Thanks!

6 Likes

Thank you so much!

CDDA electrical systems ignore the minor concerns of voltage and amperage (at least for now) and focus on power. It’s unrealistic, but the devs are slowly improving it.

It looks like the game is implementing oxyacetylene welders and stick welders, but is missing some components: flux, clamps, wire holders, and metal rods.

The next set of questions:

1. In the description of TIG welding, you reference “gas” welding. Is “gas” welding the same as “wire” / “MIG” / “GMAW” welding?
  2. How big are the metal rods used to provide filler?
  3. How much to they weigh, how much volume do they take up?
  4. If you make homemade coated steel rods for wire welding, how much paper and glue does it take to make a rod?
  5. What metal source do you use for the rod
  6. How long does it take to make a homemade coated steel rod?
  7. Does wire welding and TIG welding require different metal rods?
  8. If so, how are they different?
  9. Does oxy-acetelyne welding require metal rods or flux? Your flowchart implies it doesn’t.