Martial Arts Questions and Modding

Hello! I’m AB0. I’ve been playing DDA since… wow for a few years on and off now.

I realize its mostly a faux pas to be asking for stuff with post 1, but I’m at my ropes end with my little modification project.

I’m trying to implement a custom martial art. At the moment, I have been just editing the martialarts and technique json, and have yet (and in honestly trying to avoid) decompileing. During my little project, I have run into a few snags.

I seem to be unable to find a way to implement a fully new martial art. At the moment I’m simply replacing Zui Quan (as I never use it and am not a fan of the 100 dodges).

Is there a way to add to the list of MA in character generation? In the json’s I don’t see any flags or entry fields that indicate which advantage the MA is associated with (Personal Defense Training, or Martial Art Training). Because of this, the MA I’m working on can’t be chosen at character creation w/o replacing another MA.

How would one implement a MA manual? I would actually prefer the MA not be able to be learned at generation, and one would have to find a “feature” NPC to train them, or a book. Looking at the manual json, there doesn’t seem to be any actual link between a MA manual and the MA it teaches. I assume that is handled with some ‘on use’ type event in the compiled code?

The MA I’m working on, I wish to be highly dependent on user interaction. Requiring the user to be reactive to short term buffs, and strategize three or four turns ahead.