It took 3 characters but I finally got my first kill, are you proud of me?

(first of all this is my first time using a forum so lmk if I’m doing this wrong)

My first character died to a pack of zombie cows at a dairy farm. My second character died after having his arm blown off while kiting a zombie through a minefield. My third character left his survival shelter, got spotted by a zombie dog, and bashed it to death with his cell phone (shoutout Nokia), achieving major blood loss in the process. I’m basically an expert now. I’ll soon go on to conquer the world…once I figure out how to stop the bleeding.

What are some small wins that made your day while playing Cataclysm?

11 Likes

Mi-go spawned next to a slime pit. It singlehandedly wiped them all out and then, after being heavily wounded due to taking down 200 slimes or so, got taken down by me with primitive weapons. I could finally reach another part of the map. That was nice.

3 Likes

That’s wild. I’m new to the game so I’ve only heard mentions of mi-gos and slimes myself. Are mi-gos really that tough? Or are slimes really that weak?

The problem is that slimes split. Mi-gos definitely are tough and even more so if they are in groups or there are special types of mi-go you will usually only find in mi-go structures, which can heavily debuff you.

2 Likes

Almost all small wins I’ve had were followed by instant-fails.
A few examples I can remember from old versions of the game:

• When Mooses (Meese? Meeses?) were the most dreaded character killers in the game, I took 3 steps out of the starting shelter and got attacked by one, who would just essentially turn me into mush. I yelled at him enough times that he ran away from me. I made my way back into the shelter with a broken arm, on day one. I decided it was smart to go the other way around. As soon as I open the door, a Mi-Go steps in. Yeah.