Funnel

Maybe I’m stupid but I can’t seem to get any water out of my funnels. I (a)ctivated them onto the ground. I have empty bottles in my inventory. It is raining out. I (e)xamine the funnel and when it asks me if I want to disarm the trap I tell it, ‘no’. Then I’m done. It doesn’t prompt me for an item to put water in. Has the functionality of the funnel changed? I’m new to the game so I’m following the wiki and Dapper McJester for most of my knowledge.

In the latest experimental build, the mechanic has changed. Funnels now accumulate water over time instead of serving as infinite reservoirs as long as its raining. This should also mean that you can collect rain water after the rain has stopped. I haven’t gotten to test it very much. From the code, it looks like you can leave empty bottles in the same tile as your funnel and it will automatically fill them up (Can someone confirm?). Beware that acid rain will contaminate your water!

Drop a water container on the same square as the active funnel.

Come back later, collect water that is now inside the container.

[quote=“Rivet, post:3, topic:2837”]Drop a water container on the same square as the active funnel.

Come back later, collect water that is now inside the container.[/quote]

You utter jammy bastards, I automatically assumed it was a funnel with some sought of catcher like those used for doing rain tests.
It’s not, it’s just a funnel isn’t it? D:
So I’ve been placing funnels outside… just to have the water drain into the ground. orz

Well played, Cata. Genius +1

What happens if it rain and then acid rain? What if you have an half-full container of water and it starts to rain acid?

It turns the water into weak acid. Not good to drink but you can steam distill it to make strong acid which has various uses.

Thanks guys!
Any way to get the water out of the weak acid/water mixture? Acid is fun and all, but a brand new survivor needs water.