Dynamic Music for horde slaughtering, running from hordes, and other scenarios

I’m imagining running through zombies slaughtering them while a metal song from Wolfenstein plays in the background. This would mean the game would have to sense what kind of situation your in whether you’re running from zombies or facing them head on. I’ve never programmed c++ but I have extensive experience with C# and I’d love to expand my horizons and make this happen. It would also be cool to have extra eerie music play when you can’t see any enemies, but you here thumps nearby. I think it could add loads to the atmosphere.

Iirc there was a program that allowe this type of behavior but i dont know about getting it working with cataclysm, though i doubt its open source.

Edit* i think it was called FMod or wwise, and bfxr is an open source alternative.

Sfx API is only one part of the problem, second one is actual in game sfx hooks, aka way in which game recognizes the event that you want to link to playing the music/sfx.

As far as CDDA goes the SFX engine is SDL audio which is… well… underdeveloped to say the least. But it has some tools like pitch shift etc. Not good not bad as they say. Seen better like Audiere. In fact original music and sfx author for the game had made an Audiere version on his branch, but never pushed it toward the main version.

The second part is much more complicated. In simple events like actions it’s not problematic. You use a jackhammer? Play jackhammer sfx. Of course there are some quirks in that too, but more or less - simple.

Complication comes with context. For example as of now game has 4 danger levels and it plays different music for each. That is a second level of complication, because you may base it on number of zombies seen. Other idea would be using their perceived difficulty according to player experience.