Deleting Items

Is there any way to delete items or do I have to find a way in-game?

I am relatively new to Cataclysm DDA and had an NPC “follower” steal valuable items from my base (ammo and weapons) when I led them in, intending to have them stay and guard. I decided to use the debug menu to wish for the items that were stolen rather than buy them all back. However, somehow I managed to accidentally give myself massive amounts of ammo. Specifically I put in 80 for the amount for most of the ammo types (since I couldn’t figure out how to see the amount of each ammo type the NPC had in the trade menu) and got 2000, 4000, etc. in return (as much as 200000 in the case of the BB’s). I don’t know of anyway to easily dispose of the extra ammo in-game, and I haven’t found a way to delete the items with the debug menu.

Throw them in a fire and run like hell.

What possibly happened was that you gave yourself 80 stacks of each ammo. Examine each ammo type if it mentions ‘default stack size’. It’s probably anything between 10-200.

You can destroy just about any item if you drive over it with a car repeatedly. Clothes and such can be burned. Explosions damage/destroy any item. Acid, too, can destroy most items. You could just dump the unwanted items in deep water, or lava. I’m not aware of any debug option that could be used for deletion.

Ah, so it’s in stacks… It makes so much sense now. Thanks for the suggestions, I’ll try some out and hopefully avoid blowing myself up.

Toss whatever you don’t want into a rift. Or into a river. Works as well.

Fires have a habit of not burning as much as I’d like them to, so I stick to rivers. If you ever debug in liquids in the future, be aware they don’t all come in a bottle, so if you drop a stack of 20 applejuice, it’s a puddle on the ground you can’t recover.

Oddly, one has no trouble keeping the loose liquids in their inventory otherwise.