Constructed charcoal kiln

Hey I’m having some issues using the constructed charcoal kiln (the one using 40 rocks).
I recently built one near my shelter hoping to make some charcoal but can’t figure out how to use it.
When I examine the kiln it tells me I should fill it with wood or bones before using it but I can’t figure out how. Since I can’t walk over it (like for example a fireplace) I can’t drop stuff in it. I tried throwing wood at it but it just bounces off and activating the wood on the kiln doesn’t seem to work either. I’m obviously missing something here but since I’m pretty new to the game I can’t quite figure out what. Does anybody here know how to put stuff into the kiln to make charcoal?
All search results I could find on this forum were talking about a metal kiln wich is apparently an item and not a construction.

Use directional multidrop. D then a direction, instead of d.

You can drop in a direction (default ‘D’) or use the advanced inventory menu under (default ‘/’).

I am also having issues with this kiln. I put wood in and light it and then say yes to the prompt to fire the kiln. It says 350 mins left ect. but then nothing happens, fire goes out and left with empty kiln? No charcoal in sight.

Please don’t tell me you ACTUALLY set the kiln on fire… You just have to fill it and then (e)xamine it to start the process (and ofc a tool that allows to make fire should be usable/nearby/in your inventory)

Haha, it looked like it needed a hand to get started!
Handy tip… If you light it THEN activate it, end result is a nice toasty fire but no charcoal :frowning:
Lesson learnt :slight_smile:

I did that. Loaded the kiln, applied my lighter at it, examined it and saw the option to ‘fire the kiln’, grabbed a fire extinguisher. Works fine now though!

[quote=“micko, post:6, topic:9604”]Haha, it looked like it needed a hand to get started!
Handy tip… If you light it THEN activate it, end result is a nice toasty fire but no charcoal :frowning: