Coming back to the Cataclysm

Hi everyone, I started playing cataclysm back is 0.B I think and then into C and I need some help coming to terms with some perceived problems.

1. Everything is frozen, all the time, even when I chuck the frozen things DIRECTLY IN FIRE. This has made the already super difficult early game even more difficult and hasn’t really added enjoyment to the game for me as I already found it near impossible to get to the end game without cheating.

2. has the spawn rate increased? because I use to set monster scaling factor to 95% and the outskirts of cities would have a few zombies that you could clean up and then explore the houses for some early game stuff but now even with moving the monster scaling factor all the way back to 50% city outskirts seem untenable without resorting to some real cheese.

3. Are zombies just in general tougher and faster? I remember being able to have a venerable mob of zombies choke pointed through a window and being able to beat them with level 2 dodging skill and 1 melee skill. maybe… 15 or so zombies with base stats because it was all 1 on 1 and you were in general faster than the average zombie. Again it feels like the game was balanced around the meta, Is this the case?

All in all I guess my real question is if the game was just made harder in general… again… which I get it most of the community wants this game to be made of spikes and hatred when they try to interact with it. I just like the setting and want the game to be less simulator, it already simulated so much but it seemed to go off the deep end a little with the food vitamins and the filthy clothing and the new frozen mechanics.

I do realize I can fix almost all these things but I just wanted to know if the game legitimately was made harder or if I am just a worse player after being away for so long.

Thanks for all your time reading this.