Noob here!

OH HAI GUISE!

Hello there folks, I started playing Cataclysm a few days ago, I tried it long ago
but didn’t really get into it. This time I did, but seeing how horribly and unpredictably
crashy it was, I’ve decided to switch to this branch which at least is alive, even if it
has some stuff I don’t like. Like feeling as if Lugonu was toying with my mind the first
time I tried to steer a vehicle. I’m going to stay clear of them for some time I think.

First wail: You all talk of firearms, buildings things… Excuse me, how does one get
any far into the game? The amount of nasty monsters right away from the start
is forbidding.

Last game:

I managed to loot a couple of military surplus during the first hours, lots of food and
useful survival gear get back to the shelter, dig some pits to slow access to it around a door
just in case, and taught myself Construction 1 and First Aid 1. Night came, and I went to loot
a house. Got some cigarettes (phew) and a couple useful items too. I managed to make a
silent exit out the house just as zombies were getting in, left them thrashing the house
wondering where the walking food was, and started my trek back to the shelter.

Midway back to the shelter, enter a Bear. Bye-bye, character. I never even learned his name.
I don’t think a starting character can either kill or run away from a bear. So if there’s a bear
around, it’s going to kill you, probably sooner rather than later.

Zombies spawn from apparently safe directions too, and specials start spawning right away,
with other characters, I’ve seen a smoker zombie (well, that one at first I didn’t see), a
lightning zombie and a spitter zombie all together as the first enemies I faced.

There’s some troll back at the vanilla cataclysm forum raging about how DDA is “too easy”.
I really don’t know what the f*ck is he talking about.

Tips and advice, please.