CDDA Design Philosophy?

Hey all,

I am kinda new to the game, as you might been able to tell from my posts (and post count!) … I was curious to understand what the the contributors and project leaders have in mind here.

Let me say than I think you guys have created something truly awesome here, with a level of complexity that is unrivaled by any other survival type game I have tried to date.

There is the core survival game - food, water, sleep, disease, infection, etc.
Which goes in hand with the crafting, and somewhere I read that the design philosophy is to keep crating to what could be realistically achieved by an individual in an aftermath setting.

Then there are the zombies and monsters as the threat (other than just fulfilling basic needs of survival).

And then there are a bunch of systems that seem to me, at least, to make the above somewhat imbalanced, and thus lead to my question about design philosophy.

Cars. Cars are the best and the worst. I can only applaud and sit back in awe at the amount of work that hos gone into the vehicle system. It is awesome. However, vehicles seem to upset the rest of the above - the very worst enemies the game can throw at you, can all be run over by anybody fresh out of the shelter who finds a working car (especially a military vehicle). Once you get some mechanics under your belt, you can create truly legendary mods of destruction that can kill anything, break into any bank vault, military base, etc.

Bionics. No downside. Stuff more metal in a body than can possibly be stuffed into single human. Armor, weapons, tools, power for other tools of destruction, water for goodness sake.

Mutations. I have only started to tinker with this, so I don’t yet know how this affects game play.

I appreciate that you have created a sandbox, and lots of thing are getting introduced, but I was curious to understand the long term vision of the game, and what you are all thinking about doing to bring the game into a state of balance.