Bug-fixing

I’d really like to assist with some of the issues on the Github project page and eventually contribute a mod or two. Of course, there are quite a few source files, and this is my first time looking at contributing to someone else’s project.

Is there general advice one could give regarding becoming more familiar with the high-level purposes of the various, less obviously-named files (like tileray.cpp)? Is it simply a matter of jumping in face-first? Also, I was looking at working out this issue specifically, since it looks relatively straightforward: https://github.com/TheDarklingWolf/Cataclysm-DDA/issues/531

Is there a recommended approach to tackling an issue like this? Personally, I’ve just been reading the code that determines what’s inside vs. outside. But I don’t even necessarily know that that’s the cause of the issue. Is there some more efficient method to debugging this issue than simply reading all the relevant code?

It’s a case of jumping in face-first and figuring out how the code works - and asking questions along the way. It’s a tangled, gnarly mess, and there’s not a whole lot of code documentation at the moment.

Hopefully you pick an easy place to jump into the first time around, and also feel free to ask if something confuses you.

In that particular case… Well, I know that you get unhappy when you’re wet, so I’ll search for “WET” and hope there’s something that matches. Ah, MORALE_WET, exactly what I’m looking for. That’s added in… weather.cpp, in weather_effect:wet. Looking at the if statement, it appears to be PLAYER_OUTSIDE that’s controlling what you want. So, if I then look for what PLAYER_OUTSIDE means, it’s apparently a preprocessor #define that calls map::is_outside. So, I’ll look that function up, and… it uses outside_cache, a 2D array (I think… ew the low-level C). And that’s updated in map::build_outside_cache.