What's the deal with gun accuracy?

Hi guys! I started playing this again after getting burnt out for a while. I’ve already got like, ten more people addicted to it, heh.

My question is, what the heck is up with long-range gun accuracy now? It seems like I have no chance at all of hitting anything consistently more than 3 or 4 tiles away.

In my current game for example I’ve got 7 Rifle skill, 7 marksmanship, and an M4A1 with rifle scope, rail laser sight, ergonomic grip, and barrel extension and I can’t hit basically anything even with 0 Dispersion and 0 Sight dispersion. Even against immobile targets well within sight range.

Every shot there is after aiming the shot for like 30 keypresses.

What the heck?

Also this:

Did a turret just dodge a bullet? What?

Avoided, not dodged. This is an artifact of small size giving a passive dodge boost rather than accuracy penalty to attacker.
This is really rare for bullets, though.
For this message to happen, the target has to be hit by original accuracy, then missed by accuracy modified by dodge. Due to bullet’s speed, this modification is tiny.

It should actually happen more often for “smart” critters, but not at all for turrets. It isn’t Matrix-style bullet time dodge, but seeing the shooter and removing self from the line of fire, weaving to worsen the aim etc.
Basically everything that the target can do to be less likely to hit that doesn’t involve cover.

Other than that, there was one notable accuracy change:
You can no longer hit stuff by missing it and having bullet hit it anyway after the miss. Basically, now the displayed accuracy accurately gauges your chance to hit.

I don’t recall any other changes to hit chance.