What are Your Options for a "Perfect" Game?

By options I mean of course world (or game?) options, mainly about spawn rates, evolution (although I have no experience with what that does, other than the desc. which sounds a little ambiguous), and maybe monster speed and resilience if it’s a good mix of the two.

I always wanted to set up a challenging world that won’t murder every single character within a few starting turns (or at least the first day) but have had difficulty attempting to mix the two perfectly (and trying to find that realistic mix of housings per zombies too).

I don’t want to spawn in a city with 6 houses but has almost 50-75 zombies, but also hate defaulting to setting spawn limits to 0.00 or 0.10 as it really takes the challenge out of Cataclysm (I sorta rely on high NPC spawn rates and random spawns to keep it interesting).

I really just want some input so I can even out a challenging but also have a fun experience along the way to becoming a demigod.

Another question: Are there always spawns for places like Triffilid Groves, Police Departments, etc.? Could this be an alternative to having high zombie spawns?

I don’t usually change options such as enemy speed and resilience, I personally feel that it is balanced quite well as it is. Evolution makes tough and hard-hitting baddies appear instead of normal zombies, but does nothing for your very first days of survival. I also leave that as it is on default. While I really don’t like the moment when it starts to make a noticeable difference, it has a solid reason to be there. Keeping city raids from becoming mundane, that is!
Wandering spawns is an interesting option to turn on. It tends to depopulate cities to some point, as I noticed, without removing any challenge. Those zombies may have wandered away from where all the sweet loot at, but they are still out there somewhere. Maybe waiting just for you at your front porch.