Very newbie question regarding your evac shelter and maps

Hello all,

I am very new to this game and thus i die pretty often, is there a way to make it that whenever i die and create a new game with my same preset character, that i will spawn in the same evac shelter/map/location as i did before? Or will i need to start all over again everytime i play?

Thanks for helping this little noob out.

[quote=“Rhyd01, post:1, topic:1152”]Hello all,

I am very new to this game and thus i die pretty often, is there a way to make it that whenever i die and create a new game with my same preset character, that i will spawn in the same evac shelter/map/location as i did before? Or will i need to start all over again everytime i play?

Thanks for helping this little noob out.[/quote]

Depends, how familiar are you with C++?

About as familiar as flying an aeroplane in real life (not very).

Well, you’re going to need someone with a bit more experience with C++ than me (I’m a java man), but here is some basic pseudo code that may help them:

private whatever assignShelter

if (assignShelter== null){
assign a shelter
}
else
shelter=assignShelter

When world deleted, assignShelter=null

You’re probably going to need someone to play around with the player and mapgen files to get this to work. I’d be able to do it if it was java, but I’m learning C++ on the fly as I mess with the code here.

The best option you have is to recreate your character until you respawn in the same starting location. It should’t take more than 2-3 tries. The evacuation shelters where you start are usually grouped around the same town or close, and if you mark some location with a spray can, it stays marked on the same map for any character you have. Also make sure you have Delete World set to 0 in options menu.
hope this helps.

BTW, if you want some basic pilot experience, download IL2- Sturmovick. Murder dem nazies in a super realistic simulation :slight_smile: