Ubuntu: Trying to add Cataclysm as a Non-Steam game

I installed Cataclysm DDA on Ubuntu using apt, and it seemed to install fine. I’d like to add it to steam as a non-steam game, but when I pick out the executable at /usr/games/cataclysm-tiles and run the item in steam it seems to run and then imediately stops. It doesn’t even open. I tried making a .desktop file for CDDA (which works) but steam doesn’t like that either.

I’m a little stumped about what I’m doing wrong, and I couldn’t find any help online. I’m still pretty new to Linux, so I may not fully understand the ins-and-outs of executing applications.

• What do I need to do to start CDDA through Steam on Ubuntu?

Hello,

From experience and what you are describing I think you may need to add a compatibility layer in Steam. Right click on the game you added in Steam, then Compatibility tab, then choose a Proton, if it does not work try not another Proton. Pretty sure it will work this way.

But I am 0% expert so maybe it won’t work because I guess CDDA is not a standalone executable file working on its own so maybe it needs to be completely installed with all its files in the compability proton environnement.

1 Like

Thanks for your reply, @Worlder! :sparkles:

I gave forcing Proton-Experimental a try, but it didn’t work. I’m not clear on what the compatibility tools are meant to do, but I think they allow non-linux games to run in linux. That’s pretty handy, but Cataclysm works on its own on my laptop so I’m not sure what Proton might do to help. :thinking::grey_question:

I took a look at the Right-Click > Properties > Shortcut window and it says:

Target: “/usr/games/cataclysm-tiles”
Start In: /usr/games/

That seems right to me, but maybe I’m missing something. :person_shrugging:

1 Like