Running Cata on Linux

I have Linux Mint 17, I’m trying to run Cataclysm DDA Brin.

I’m new to Linux though, so I’m not sure how to go about doing this. I downloaded the linux version, but upon trying to run the CDDA-tiles a grey window will come up and then disappear.

I assume I have to compile, a set of instructions would be very helpful.

Dunno if the Gentoo and Ubuntu notes on the wiki would be of any help; unfortunately, they’re all I’ve got. :-/

Try cd’ing to the Cata directory and do ./cataclysm-launcher

That’s always worked for me, but I usually do terminal mode on my lil Linux netbook.

Failing that, cd to the directory and run “sudo ./cataclysm-launcher”

[ol][li]Open console[/li]
[li]Run this command: git clone https://github.com/CleverRaven/Cataclysm-DDA.git[/li]
[li]Go into the directory (cd Cataclysm-DDA)[/li]
[li]make RELEASE=1 (no tiles) or make RELEASE=1 TILES=1 (with tiles), add LOCALIZE=0 if you don’t want languages other than english[/li]
[li]When it finishes, run with ./cataclysm[/li][/ol]

If it complains about not knowing what is git (I think it shouldn’t, but it can), run sudo apt-get install git.
If it complains about missing SDL in the part with make, run sudo apt-get install libsdl2-dev. If about missing gettext, I think it should be sudo apt-get install gettext or add LOCALIZE=0 to line with make.

Thanks for the help, but it doesn’t seem to be working.

If try cd’ing and then running using terminal I get this:

‘Couldn’t find Cataclysm game binary in [directory]’

If I try doing Coolthulu’s method I get stuck on the ‘make RELEASE=0’ getting an error saying:

make: g++ command not found

I’m using the Linux SDL/tiles version if that helps, should I be using Linux curses?

There’s no g++ in mint by default. That’s easy to fix, though.

First try sudo apt-get install g++. Then retry points 3 and 4.