Tips for keeping npc's alive?

So I’m pretty new to this whole having an npc companion thing but they seem to have a little trouble with the whole surviving thing. I managed to stop her from jumping out of a building to fisticuff 15 zombies after dropping her suitcase and all her loot but even the best of my attempts to keep her safe she still ended up with two broken legs and I wasn’t too much better off after having to dive into acid because she insisted on standing in it to punch a spitter. Is there also a way to have her not drop all our loot every time she see’s a zombie?

2 Likes

Just set the npc’s engagement rule to “fight unless your life depends on it” or “attack enemies within reach”, these rules will not make your npcs suicidal, especially if you tend to loot buildings.

5 Likes

Think of yourself as the hammer for their anvil, in a big fight it’s YOUR job to kill the zombies with special attacks, let your grunts deal with their grunts while you handle the specials. It’s also worth taking them somewhere somewhat safer/more managable to let them grind up some basic combat skills if they don’t have them. As an example after gearing my NPC up and reading her some combat books I took her to a beehive, I’d let her have one on ones while I killed everything that tried to gang up on her. It didn’t take too long to get her to 5 dodge and you can continue the education system by using the time in between fights while they heal up to read more books to them. Just don’t take them anywhere where intelligent pathfinding is required unless you want them running into a turret room of something stupid like that.

6 Likes

As another aside, how do i heal my npc’s broken legs. I made her giant butt some XL leg splints, but she keeps occasionally dropping them and when I tell her to use the splints the examine wounds screen doesn’t change.

1 Like