Tame Pets, Collectable Pets, and Followers

Greetings. This is my first time posting. I did a quick search but didn’t find a thread aimed at game design for pets so I’m starting this one, this is basically just what I would like to see from pets, I welcome any further ideas.

Pets

Pets need to be trained which takes four hours after they have been tamed which takes materials. Pets will try to defend you within the confines of the boundries designated by their current command. If desperately injured pet will switch to Wander mode. If further injured while in Wander mode the pet will Flee. An object can be used to extend the range you can deliver commands to your pet. Regardless of Commands Pets will avoid Enviornmental Hazards and Traps.

Neutral: Pet will randomly select behavior, change behavior according to vital needs, and occassionally return to you.

Heel: Pet will stay adjacent to you.

Follow: Pet will stay with a small distance of you but otherwise act neutral. A pet in this mode will Point at nearby creatures regardless of sight and Growl if an enemy or Trill if prey.

Wander: Pet will stay within a medium distance of you but otherwise act neutral. A pet in this mode will Point at nearby creatures regardless of sight and Growl if an enemy or Trill if prey.

Hunker: Pet will stay in target location.

Stay: Pet will stay within a small area of current location but otherwise act neutral.

Go: Pet will stay within a medium area of Target location but otherwise act neutral.

Home: Designates a target location as Home.

Away: Pet will stay within a medium area of Home location but otherwise act neutral.

Outside: Pet will stay within a large area of Home but otherwise act neutral.

Hunt: Pet will attempt to hunt, kill, and return with the meat of an animal after eating one meat off the animal.

Forage: Pet will return with some kind of found non meat item.

Kill: Pet will attack target creature.

Back: Pet will avoid contact with hostile creatures.