Some thoughts on the new household electrical stuff in Experimental

Good morning, folks! Thanks for all your hard work on the game. I love it. This post is in no way, shape, or form intended to be critical. I just wanted to share my semi-educated opinions, as a former commercial/industrial electrician and ham radio operator.

I realize too that fun comes before realism, so yanno. But there are some fundamental differences between low-voltage high-amperage DC electrical systems (as you would find in automative applications) and high-voltage low-amperage AC electrical systems (such as you would find in household wiring).

I also apologize if this has been discussed before. As a self-employed type, my day job is busy af (ironic considering that I have the time to write all this at the moment lol), like 60 hour weeks typically. So I don’t really have time to keep up with the github and discord discussion as well as I ought. :frowning:

Before I share my thoughts on this though, let’s make sure we’re all on the same page. Please skip ahead if this is old news to you.

These explanations are not meant to be read as me talking down to anyone. I just want to make sure that everyone reading this can be on the same page once we get to the meat of this discussion.

As we recall from EE-101, the power being supplied or consumed in an electrical system (wattage) can be expressed as the voltage on the line (volts) multiplied by the current flowing through the line (amps).

This can be difficult to visualize, being that electricity is invisible, but we can use the metaphor of a water pipe to help. The metaphor starts to collapse if you examine it too closely, but I think it’s sufficient for this discussion.