Psionics Mod [WIP]

Hello! This is my first time posting here, and my first time modding a game! Don’t worry though, I’m a programmer by trade, so this should be doable (famous last words…).

In recent years, I’ve taken a liking to the kinds of game-play rogue-likes and other systems-driven games provide. I found Cataclysm: DDA about a week ago, and have been progressively dying slower every game! :smiley:

I was particularly interested once I saw the unwilling experiment scenario in the game, and instantly thought of Akira and all the pseudo-military, experimental bio-weapon tropes in sci-fi shows, anime, and movies. And while mutations are a fairly big thing in the game, psionics are non-existent. So, I decided to add it. And after reading through all the psionics threads I could find on the forums, here’s some of my ideas:

#Background Info
There are Lovecraftian creatures in setting. As such, there are possibly elder-gods, and most likely, things the human mind was not meant to comprehend. IRL, there is a theoretical physics theory called Quantum Space Theory, which essentially asks the question: What if the “fabric” of space-time was not continuous like most theories suggest, but actually quantized. This has a number of interesting consequences, but for our purposes the important part is that there is a fundamental “unit” of space-time called quanta, which supposedly could be manipulated. Complicated background information aside, what does that mean for C:DDA?

#In Game Lore