Nailboard Traps

Now this may be an odd question but I was wondering if anyone knew how much damage nailboard actually do. More importantly how many would I need to kill a Shocker Brute. Spike pits are also an option of course for a bit more work. I’ve never used any traps before and I rather like my current character and would rather not have him die due to stupid mistakes if I can help it.

Too many to be worth the effort. Your best bet for protecting your base is spike pits. I’ve also seen nifty things done with a lit brazier if you can manage to kite one into it.

If you have enough nail boards for the Z’s to run over as you kite them in circles that helps. I’ve found it’s easier to make a bunch of nail board traps, then glass shard pits/ deep pits behind them, and maybe a few pits where there are some flaming logs. The nail boards by themselves are not enough.

There’s a wiki page on traps, some of it might be outdated but you can recheck in trapfunc.cpp

Best trap is the blade trap - it’s a 3x3 aoe trap that doesn’t require rearming and kills all non-dr zombies with ease. Electric engines are often found by deconstructing machinery (eg labs) via construction menu. Needs flat terrain though so works best in city or base defense when you have time to cut down grass. I like to use these for protecting my outside solar panels in a static base.

Trap damage is hardcoded in trapfunc.cpp, huh. That looks like something that ought to be moved out into JSON at some point, but I suspect this is some really old code that nobody’s touched in a long time.
If I’m reading this right, it does 3-5 cut to a monster, and 6-10 vs a player. I prefer using caltrops, which do 9-15 cut (9-30 player) as they’re smaller and can be made from nails once you get enough skill.
Pits do 10-20 bash. spiked/glassed pits 20-50 cut damage. Blade traps do 12 bash, 30 cut.