Mixed Ammo Mags?

If this has already been discussed I’m sorry, I don’t know the history behind the debate on adding ammo magazines to the game.

Has there been any thoughts on adding mixed ammo capability to magazines? Meaning I can load up a few reloads into a mag and then stack on factory rounds on top of them?

I’m finding it a bit annoying at the start of the game when I have a mixture of loose ammo which is all the same caliber, yet cannot seem to put them side by side in a mag. Perhaps later in the game this becomes less of an issue as having a large amount of ammo gives the player the option to more cleanly arrange their usage. As a new player barely scraping by I don’t yet have the luxury of making my own stuff yet so I’m finding it annoying unrealistic to have roughly identical rounds blocking my ammo flow.

As a developer I can understand why there might be some difficulty involved here. The magazines struct/object internally probably isn’t designed in a round-by-round fashion as a vector or array (although I haven’t really checked), so allowing a mixture in would probably be a bit painful. I think long term it’s probably the right solution but perhaps a bit traumatic. At some point I’ll get all the dependencies setup in my environment with SDL and gettext so I can actually build it so maybe I’ll fiddle with it eventually if I can find the time.

P.S.
This game is way too addictive, I just found it a few days back and it already killed an entire weekend.

The implementation would actually support that but the interface would be horrible

if your a dev, and think you could solve it, you can always do so, and post a mod for others to use. If the main devs like it they’ll probably even mainline it and maintain it, if not you can just keep it a mod for those that want to use it.