Long Fingernails and Fingerless Handwear

Hello there, my name is Karla! I’m a total newbie to this whole thing, but I’m slowly figuring things out.

Presently, I’m playing as a mutant with claws and fangs and talons and such, but I’ve come across something that isn’t exactly explained well. The ‘Long Fingernails’ mutation says it adds cutting damage to your unarmed hits if you aren’t wearing gloves. Now here’s the thing, is that -ALL- gloves? All handwear? Do I lose the bonus damage if I’m just wearing hand-wraps? Fingerless Gloves? Leather Armor Gauntlets (Which also state they’re fingerless in the description)?

If so, I feel that’s a bit of an oversight, as it really makes no sense at all. And I imagine fixing it would be as easy as adding a ‘Fingerless’ flag and making claw-type effects like Long Fingernails and Razor Fingers work with handwear that has that flag.

If not, then all is well, and it just wasn’t clear enough for me to really feel comfortable assuming either way.

I would assume that since the Razor Boy start gives you fingertip razors and starts you with fingerless gloves, these work together but I haven’t looked under the hood to tell you for sure.

One of many things that need fixed. Lotsa stuff and not enough time. >_<

That’s good to hear! Thanks for clarifying!

So, for now, I must assume that all handwear prevents me from using claws, got it.

On a similar note, is it planned for things like toe-talons, fangs, or the like to allow butchering? It doesn’t seem like it makes a lot of sense for a mutant with claws, fangs, and talons to be completely incapable of eating from a corpse without first finding a knife. She’s got built-in knives on every limb!

[quote=“KarolineDianne, post:4, topic:8372”]That’s good to hear! Thanks for clarifying!

So, for now, I must assume that all handwear prevents me from using claws, got it.