Libraries?

These aren’t a thing yet. They need to be. Badly. Is there a way I can make buildings be a thing myself, or do I need to wait for you guys?

What do you mean? There are libraries.

Yeah, libraries seem to spawn just as often as any shop… which is to say, you can still get screwed out of them by RNG hate, but they’re there.

Also, if you’re not finding any, try clearing out a school; schools are totally full of books, with a dedicated library PLUS extra books in most of the rooms. (also, lots and lots and lots of child zombies)

Mansions also often have private libraries.

Sometimes they just take time to find, looking around and searching another city can often help.

Its a > thats brown. No backround.

Mansions can have pretty nice libraries too, and killing regular zeds may be easier on your morale.

(Not to mention the rest of the Mansion loot.)

I have been playing cataclysm for almost two years and have not found a single library. I know mansions and schools have good libraries, but schools are dangerous if you want to maintain morale. Mansions are awesome, especially when they have the room full of suits of plate mail and weapons, but they don’t spawn often enough to be reliable. Do libraries take up a three by three space on the map? because they should.

Seriously? That’s impossible. Even for RNG. The only thing I can think of is that you transported save files and messed up something.

SCREENIE:

I cleared out a city of that size in 0.8 and encountered no libraries, somehow (don’t have a screenshot, but it was a clean start on the stable version). I mentioned the school as an alternative because that’s exactly what I wound up doing. I found libraries in neighboring cities once I pushed out that far, so I concluded that the RNG can sometimes just be really weird.