How is melee weapon attack speed calculated?

I’m just getting into modding CDDA, and I’ve been messing around with a few things, including melee weapons. I’m a bit confused as to how exactly the attack speed is calculated, though, because it’s not a stat included in the weapon description and I can’t figure out what determines the length of an attack. I also couldn’t find anything in the documentation that comes with the game or on the forum.

I don’t know any formula or anything. But for modding, you can manipulate how long the attack takes by changing the weight of the weapon. It’s the only thing I’m aware of in a weapon entry that affects how long the attack takes.

That’s wierd. I thought I tried that and it didn’t do anything. I’ll try it again, thought, thanks.

It is a small change. To make sure I wasn’t lying to you, I tested my broken spear weapon (weight 650) and it has a moves per attack of 91. Then I changed it to weight 6500, ten times more and it had a moves per attack of 189. So, about double for 10 times the weight.

It’s not super noticeable when you make small changes.

I guess I messed up something when I tried it earlier, because volume seems to have an even bigger impact.

Oh, you’re right. I didn’t know volume affected it.

Apparently, unless it was fixed, you can make a weapon bug out with too high of volume and weight values. (I think it was that)
You’ll attack really slowly, but at least you’ll move ten times the normal speed.
So, just be careful when modding, as things can sometimes get really janky and confusing.

I wish it was its own stat so that I could make a tiny dagger weigh the same amount as the corpse if a hulk and also make its attack speed 1.
But changing that in the programming would not be worth it by far.