Favorite Starting Base Locations & Mid-Game Base Locations?

I’m pretty new to this game (I installed it this month), but I’ve already observed that farms don’t seem quite as good as I’d expected for base locations, but fire stations and hotel basements are oddly-effective. What do you guys find are good?

My personal favorites are labs (especially if they’re close-ish to town) and oddly enough, schools.

Labs almost always have an infinite water supply (the room with the locked metal door and leaking water), they’re fairly easy to clear or at least make some areas very safe (concrete walls and metal doors to keep the horrors in and away from you), they have LOTS of crafting supplies of nearly every kind (rags galore, metal, plastic, computer bits, pipes, wood), they tend to have some nifty books (though usually too advanced for a newbie), and they have some VERY nifty weapons/CBMs, when you can get to them. Just VERY short on food…

For a school, I usually set up shop at the back door on the other side from the cafeteria, kill the nearest stuff as needed, then drag the lockers from that one windowless room around outside to make “walls” with no ceiling (so, I’m not seen, but I have light). I can sleep in the windowless room (on a pile of zombie clothes) day or night, it’s almost always got funnels and containers, so I have a decent water supply (also safe from prying eyes), and at night, I can raid the cafeteria for food and the library for books. It can be a GREAT starter area (though you have to be careful of the horde that is likely out front bashing cars - keep your pile of loot OUTSIDE and not directly next to the walls in case a car fire spreads to the building). Worst problem is managing to kill the child zombies and the morale penalty that brings, but if you can draw them away, you can kill them with bush-fires to avoid both problems. Nail-boards can also help a good bit, as does any weapon (even low damage ones) with a good hit bonus.