Faction camps and zones

I started playing again recently coming from experimental 8593 into 11133. So, I’ve been messing around with camps and zones (mostly camps because of the absolutely ridiculous costs), it is me or do they basically do the same thing? While I like the idea of faction camps I feel as though zones do it FAR better. Not only can I build things without the insanely overpriced buildings, It’s faster and I can design things to fit for my desire. As I said I haven’t played with zones much but it seems to me that’s the direction this concept should head towards. A few things I would like to see are -
Nested zone trees (so I can group multiple zones into one place eg base 1 or base 2)
Assign npcs to multiple zones then giving priorities
Patrol zones
Crafting zones
Npc food/drink/sleep zones per npc (for when npc needs are active)
etc

Unless those who made the camp recipes miscalculated, the cost of constructing camp buildings should be the same as when the buildings are constructed directly. However, it’s a valid opinion to consider them to be much larger (and thus resource demanding) than needed.

Base camps provide some kind of direction for those who are looking for that, and they provide a resource sink that give the player a reason to scavenge building materials, which may or may not be considered desirable.

I basically haven’t used zones outside of the base camp, but if defining construction zones can be done outside of a camp (and actually work: it doesn’t work for companions in 0.E2 stable, but I believe that’s been fixed), the differences would be in the “recipes” provided by the base camp.

• The base camp canteen allows you to order companions to cook a limited number of recipes (with bread and pemmican being the useful ones, as far as I’ve seen, plus the “smoke scraps of meat into smoked pieces of meat”, which isn’t available to the player).