Clothing Realism

I love this game, I really do. I started playing back in 0.A and it’s only gotten better and better. Realism in regards to surivival, fabrication and gunpowder have only made the game better. However there is one skill that has been missed.

Tailoring.

I don’t know where the default tailoring speed came from but it’s crazy fast. I make all my own clothing and gear by handsewing and I play cata sometimes just to marvel at how fast the PC is with a needle and thread. For example, cargo shorts in the game take ~30minutes to make. The average time it takes me to sew up a pair of cargo shorts, using whole fabric, is around four hours. Strong stitches, and hemming material take time. Let alone cutting, measuring and bits like buttons and zippers. A simple tshirt usually takes me 1.5-2hrs. Leather however, is a demon. Each sewn hole needs to be drilled with an awl. Knife sheaths take me about 1-3hrs to make, depending upon size.
I think making the sewing times more realistic would firstly limit the massive boot the tailoring skill gives the player, and secondly encourage more scavenging.

How to fix this:
All cloth based sewing should be multiplied by 5
Leather based sewing (I’m assuming each kit has an awl) should be multiplied by 7
Tailoring exp increased by a multiple of 5
Reparing/fitting time increased by 3
Things like shemaghs, handwraps and turbans should stay what they are as no sewing is involved.

What do you think?

I’m in favor of making the times more realistic in general, the current numbers simply haven’t been reexamined with realism in mind.
I’m a little concerned that such long durations will make people avoid tailoring, but it’s so useful that it’s probably fine.
any thoughts on mending time?

My numbers in the previous post were just reserached guesses. Testing should help out. Maybe there will be more feedback on here? I think the original times were based off of an industrial sewing machine all set and ready to go.