Back in Cataclysm after a while and... Can't get into the Fire Station?

I just started playing again after quite a while of leaving it be. I found a small town (three buildings) with a fire station. Whenever I try to use the winch it just says nothing happens. Is this a glitch or working as intended?

Never happened to me.
Usually the fire station has a small room in which you can operate the winch and a metal door beside it opens (not the rolling shutters, but a small door).

I’ll keep an eye on it and maybe test it manually later. It’s what the debug tools are for.

Did a fireman start and am unable to enter the firestation again. Going to report this as a bug.

usually it implies that the type of wench used does not match the explicit wall its trying to operate through. There is a wench for each type of wall that the game reasonably expects to have to ‘wench through’.

Hardcoded object is hardcoded.

what version? the newest expie?

Newest. I used the launcher. It’s why I haven’t filed a report yet so I can make sure of the details. :stuck_out_tongue:

[quote=“pisskop, post:5, topic:13729”]usually it implies that the type of wench used does not match the explicit wall its trying to operate through. There is a wench for each type of wall that the game reasonably expects to have to ‘wench through’.

Hardcoded object is hardcoded.

what version? the newest expie?[/quote]

Damn wenches… so picky about what doors they’ll open and what doors they won’t open. You know what? Someone should invent a tool that will open the door for you instead of needing to train and feed wenches all the time… we could call it a winch.

Which lets you have winch-wenches, which are wenches which winch winches.

Which lets you have winch-wenches, which are wenches which winch winches.[/quote]

Oh wow I’m totally out of my league here…

Don’t know… Was able to successfully open the metal door leading to the firestation.
http://imgur.com/Kcl8ajR