Are there generators, or is there a way to make something similar?

I am a bit of a newb, just started playing a few days ago and I just signed in on this forum for my first time.
Anywho; is there a way I can use car parts to make a generator so I can power things like batteries or appliances. Can appliances even be powered? I looked at the furniture.json, but I didn’t see anything that would make the fridge for example be powered so it would preserve food or be powered at all. Is there a way to make a microwave or a tv, vcr, dvdplayer as an activatable funiture? In order to make them things would I have to edit the source? I took a peek at the source and my eyes bled, plus it looks to be a fair bit outdated. 0.6 it says. But that could mean something else, I don’t know.

general forum is for regular chat. Bunker is where the game is discussed. so you wont get many responses to game questions here.

i dont think they added generators. id like that too. there is a ‘yeah butt’. you can generate electricity from a car. you have to build it. Building cars is rather complex. i have not really dug into it myself. there are posts in the bunker with tips and in the wiki. it will take time to figure out the mechanics.

i do like the idea of generators then you can add lights, computers, powered traps, etc… but it does not exist. i believe it has been suggested. this would be a pretty big mod.

Ya, okay. I guess I have to go beat my brain with a hammer aka try to learn this code. Thanks… hmm, is the source outdated? I like the current version a lot, not that I tried the previous versions. But it have more stuff now, should I wait for the next release before I try to create it? Of course, I am going to learn this code first. But should I hold off actually trying to make this until next release?