A proposal for implementing multistory buildings using existing features

To start off- I’ve done a bit of searching, but wasn’t able to find too much information on earlier conversations about z-levels, multistory buildings, etc. I don’t know how controversial this topic is or how much effort has already been put into some variation on this idea, but I feel like that adding multistory buildings to the game would add a lot to gameplay. I’ve got no idea what any of these proposals would do to performance, game balance, etc. at this time.

I’m a developer by trade but I’m not intimately familiar with the codebase for the CDDA project. Anything below is based on a week or two playing .9+ and a few wandering investigations of the github repository.

My intention is to start a discussion on how currently existing features could be leveraged to add more depth to the game map.

The big thing I think most people could agree on is that to add any sort of z-levels you don’t want to overhaul the current engine or mapgen process. Discarding already existing content due to changes in the engine would also be right out. Underground area generation is simplified because everything can be populated “freeform” and doesn’t require a priori knowledge of the contents of upper or lower z-levels beyond transition points (staircases, manhole covers, etc.) I’ve been thinking on how we could re-use existing systems to expand the world of cataclysm without a massive re-work, and in no particular order here are some talking points:

Proposal 1- where does all this second-story content come from?