A couple of of questions regarding adding content

Is character.cpp something that a player has access to or can I only get it changed through a pull request? I think I’ve looked through every folder but haven’t been able to find it, I cant seem to find any .cpp files at all actually. (But I’m not putting past myself that I might of missed it)

And can I tag bionics so you can only install one or the other but not both at the same time?

You need to have a fork of the repository to be able to edit it, the source files are not shipped with the game.
In addition, once you edit it, for your changes to apply you need to recompile the game.

Thanks, I’ll see about the fork now. Do I need a program to compile it? Sorry for the amateur questions but I’m new to this. I’ve got the code I need thanks to mr_sep but I’m at a bit of a loss on what to do with it.

Compiling: compiling.md
Forking and GitHub: Guide for first time contributors (this should have some good info on GitHub and git).

Thank you very much, I’ll start reading through that and see about getting Visual Studio

Ok, I ended up trying MinGW. I followed the instructions as best I could but some of the files didn’t exactly match what was in the guide, I tried to go with the ones that looked like direct upgrades but it doesn’t seem to work. I’m kind of completely lost on what I’ve messed up :dizzy_face:

Do you need to recompile if you’re just changing JSON files? If not, how do you test? I’ve forked and cloned it to my desktop, but I’ve only ever used the launcher before so I have no real clue what I’m doing…

You don’t need to compile when changing JSON files.

For testing JSON, just change what you want to change and restart the game. The only reason you’d need to compile for JSON is if you’d never compiled the game in the first place.