.6 Newbie Starter Guide

Had to adjust my strategy due to spawn changes. Note that some of these are non-hardcore methods you dont have to follow. However, I find them nice to learn the game, then do it the harder way later.

Options:
go to options and make your screen as big as your monitor will support. Have to quit and come back a few times. This lets you see more
for a total newb: go to starting points and raise this to 24 (lets you be stronger to start. Good for learning the game)
for a total newb: disable skill degrades (this makes the game too easy when you get good. since you can max everything.but good for learning the game)

Character Creation. Always take these negative traits. NPCs are disabled and the rest dont really hurt you. This gives bonus points to use elsewhere.
negative: near-sighted, trigger happy, heavy sleeper,ugly, truth teller, wool allergy
positive traits (can only get all these if you up to 24 starting points): fleet-footed,quick,fast healer, fast learner, night vision, robus genetics, optimist,1 unarmed combat (dont care which one).

Skills: Archery. Thats all you need. Bows are rare, but this makes it easy to craft them.

Attributes:
str: 14
dex: 10 (might be 8 with what I picked above. raise this last)
Int: 14
Perc: 14

Starting out. Stay out of town until nightfall. Make sure to press ‘_’ to select unarmed combat. You seem to need to when you wield a weapon and then unwield.
You have limited space to carry items since you dont have pockets. unarmed is so you dont have to spend space on a melee weapon early.

Go outside and collect 5-6 rocks. its all you can carry.
Throw (t) at rabbits. Yes rabbits. dont go to town.
Butcher (B) the corpse. Your pocketknife lets you do this. You will fail most of the time until level 2-3. Its ok. Optimist/Fast Learner means you will train fast.