What was your biggest facepalm?

What’s the biggest facepalm you had?

I currently have a good thing going with Kevin and I think he is one of my guys that survived in a city the longest (I’m pretty new to the game). So I was looting this town and I got more zombies than comfortable chasing me, so I decided to run back to a car I found just outside of city. I run into it and try to start it up, but it fails. I try a few more times and it doesn’t work. I run out the other door, but on the way decide to check what’s wrong. I didn’t find out, but even if it did start I wouldn’t go far without wheels. Here I facepalmed
Now Kevin is sitting in a random house with a gun in his hands planning how to get back all his stuff that he left in the car before he went looting.

Lesson learned, always check if a car works before planning anything with it in the future.

I was bunkering myself up in an evac shelter, my things sorted neatly on the benches.

I was cooking using a 2 by 4 that was just lying on the floor in the shelter. Though that it would be safe.

It wasn’t.

The shelter burned, along with 99% of my stuff.

I deleted that save afterwards.

tl;dr: Always build that stone fireplace from 40 rocks.

A brazier is sufficient and requires minimal fabrication skill, a single rock, and two sheet metals from the lockers.

My most recent facepalm was discovering that laser turrets don’t hold friend/foe identification for very long. I set up a laser turret to guard me while doing some repairs on my truck and it turned hostile and attacked me. I managed to find cover, but I couldn’t exactly learn computers 6 and build a control laptop to regain control and had to abandon the truck. And eventually the save.

A long time ago, on one of my earliest stable release characters I activated a mininuke in order to blow open a lab armoury.

As I moved several map tiles away just to be safe I wondered “what’s that clickin’ noise?”